Welcome Aboard!

Latitude: 7.1' .05" N  x  Longitude: 171' 23" E



Race Results - Ninth Annual Coconut Cup Regatta - Biggest Ever Fleet

Of Interest

March 25, 2006

Eleven traditional outrigger canoes raced in the hotly contested Ninth Annual Coconut Cup Regatta, with first place is Class A going to Jojo (captain Mani Lolin, owner Manny Nakamura).

Second place in Class A of last Saturday’s race was taken out by Kakinono (captain Mart Hosia, owner Kanji Hosia) and third by Jab Back (captain Tomingo Amram, owner Albert Albertter).

The winner — and only contender — of Class B was Bora (captain Robert Sugdh, owner Albert Albertter).

Towering over the speedy canoes were a record 14 yachts in the over 20ft division, reflecting the largest fleet to ever visit Majuro. Two of the yachts had sailed in from Kwajalein for the event.

Taking out line honors under the perfect weather conditions was the enormous trimaran Windswept (captain Richard Barrie), which is visiting Majuro for the second time.

Second in the yacht division was Interlude (Kurt Braun), while Seal (Cary Evarts) took out third place.

Two windsurfers battled the stiff breeze in the race, with Joe Genz taking out first place and Andy Gersh coming in second.

Three dinghies registered with Mieco Beach Yacht Club commodore Richard Hickson for the race: Lakatu (Alson Kelen), Turtle Dove (Karen Earnshaw), The Littlist Bird (Nellie Yetton). The first didn’t appear on the course, the second didn’t start, and the last didn’t finish (see Around Town).

Race day started with a yummy brunch at the Marshall Islands Resort, with CMI’s Don Hess holding court.

First off the starting line were the canoes, but in a relatively unfortunate piece of timing, they had already done one lap of the course and re-approached the start/finish line at the same time that the yachts were starting. Despite the congestion, however, all the skippers showed great seamanship and no accidents occurred.

Following the race, a mega-party was held at the RRE Boknake, with food by the Tide Table. The Coconut Cup Regatta band — Jerry Ross, Caleb McClennen, Darren Haversen, Erica Strong, and Kristin Romberg — wowed the crowd with covers.

Don Hess was again emcee and, with the help of the delightful Miss Coconut Cup Pele Strauss, handed out a ton of great prizes donated by a huge range of local private and public organizations and private individuals.

Sunday was picnic time at Enemanet, with lots of boats of all descriptions delivering their crew to the beach.
On Monday evening, the Kwajalein Yacht Club generously sponsored a cocktail event at the Resort, with Commodore Jim Stepchew thanking the committee for a great weekend.

Captions: (please click on link to open picture)

1. Liktaltel, skippered by Sammy Abija, chases the canoes, from left, WIA (Matson Hicom), Kakinono (Mart Hosia) and Jab Back (Tomingo Amram) in the Ninth Annual Coconut Cup Regatta. Ahead to the left is the yacht Aquila, while to the right is the yacht Interlude.  Picture

2. Race winner Windswept, skippered by Richard Barrie, overtakes SawLeeAh, skippered by Rod Caple.

Author:  Karen Earnshaw



Site designed and maintained by Consolidated Management Resources, LLC.
Please visit http://www.cmgtr.com